How to Shop for Gluten-Free Foods
Along with choosing products that are gluten-free, it’s also a good idea to look for organic and minimally processed natural foods— sorghum syrup, for example, makes a good sweetener—whenever possible.
Baking supplies. Natural sweeteners such as locally produced honey, salt and pepper, herbs and spices, tapioca, baking soda, baking powder, cornmeal, gluten-free flours, baking chocolate and dried cocoa powder.
Beverages. Coffee and tea (always check the gluten-free status of flavored types), soft drinks and fruit juice.
Breakfast foods. Rice and corn cereals meant to be cooked or eaten from the box, gluten-free cereals and gluten-free frozen waffles.
Condiments. Vinegars (except malt vinegar), mustard, ketchup, horseradish, jams and jellies, honey, maple syrup, relish, pickles and olives.
Fats and oils. Vegetable, canola and olive oils, mayonnaise and salad dressings (check labels).
Foods in packages, cans and jars. Plain, canned fruits and vegetables, apple- sauce, cranberry sauce, canned beans and lentils, canned fish (e.g., tuna, salmon and sardines), organic packaged soups, corn tortillas and gluten-free pastas and spaghetti sauces.
Frozen foods. Plain, frozen fruits and vegetables, gluten-free frozen waffles, and ice cream, sherbet and ices (check labels for added ingredients).
Grains, seeds and starches. Quinoa, rice, buckwheat, chickpeas, flax, sunflower seeds and potato starch. (See Gluten-Free Baking article for a full list of gluten-free flours.)
Meat and fish. All fresh beef and poultry, fish and shellfish; for any prepackaged or pre-wrapped item, check the label for additives.
Nuts and beans. Dried beans and peas, plain nuts; nut butters such as peanut, almond and cashew.
Produce. All fresh fruit, vegetables, herbs and spices.
Refrigerated foods. Yogurts, milk, half- and-half, cream, whipping cream, sour cream, butter, vegan margarine, cottage cheese, cream cheese, aged cheeses, eggs, tofu, rice pudding, tapioca pudding and 100 percent fruit juices.
Snacks. Rice cakes, rice crackers, soy crisps, popcorn, cheese puffs, potato and corn chips, chocolates and dried fruits.
Source: Adapted from About.com list by Jane Anderson, a medical writer specializing in gluten-intolerance issues.